January 11th 2015 - the World Map

2 posters

Go down

January 11th 2015 - the World Map Empty January 11th 2015 - the World Map

Post by Gr33nChip Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:28 am

Game design talk - the World Map

I will not go in-depth of other aspects of world building just yet, however I have to touch on some mechanics (that will be more explained in future posts) in order to reveal why this map fits the story and the mechanics.

This project started out with the idea of what the basic gameplay should look like and immediately after, I started working on the story. The plot of course demanded certain geographical elements; in particular: a main continent, partially separated across the middle, a remote island and a smaller bit of land at the middle of the map, surrounded by a body of water and I needed the whole map to be circular. I started drawing my own "fantasy" map after going through a lot of tutorials on the subject. However, I was never quite satisfied with my map and kept tinkering with it. Until one day I came across a map of an "ice-less" Antarctica. I realized that it contained all necessary elements, so I scraped all my previous attempts and started world-building on this map.

The white color you see is land and black represents the ocean. The plan is to add even more walkable surfaces. Ice surfaces for example are planned to surround the Antarctic continent and they behave different from land as ice can be broken up or melted. As you probably figured out, I am doing a reverse climate with the ice-less Antarctica surrounded by ice, which should intrigue the player. This climate change ties in with the story, as well.

January 11th 2015 - the World Map M72ygUK